Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2013 Issue Assistance: “Are you sure you want to leave the page?” pop-up on Save

By - June 27, 2014

During the previous few months of working with Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2013, there is one issue I’ve seen time and time again. It has been spotted  in the Contact, Account, Lead, and Opportunity forms, as well as the forms of several custom entities. It has occurred on multiple machines, with several users, in both online and on-premises instances of Dynamics CRM 2013, and in several different versions of Firefox, Chrome, and Internet Explorer.

The issue is the following pop-up message:

LKurt1_CRM 2013 Popup Issue Assistance

Getting this message would typically occur from attempting to navigate away from a form with unsaved changes, and thus be helpful to the user; however, in this case the message would appear on new forms when Save was clicked on the form ribbon. Clicking the Stay on this page button on the message closed the message, but did not save the record. Conversely, clicking the Leave this page button would refresh the form, and clear all the fields, but would save the record. Navigating to the list view of the entity and refreshing the page showed the new record in the list.

The following solution was reached by working with Microsoft’s Support staff, and I’ve had no reports of the issue recurring in any instance.

1.  In Internet Explorer, click the Tools icon and select Internet Options.

LKurt2_CRM 2013 Popup Issue Assistance

2.  From there, select the Security tab and click the Sites button in the Trusted Sites section. Add “*.dynamics.com” and “*.live.com” and “*.microsoft.com” to the trusted sites list, then click Close.

LKurt3_CRM 2013 Popup Issue Assistance

3.  Next you’ll need to clear your browsing history. In Internet Explorer, click the Tools icon and select Internet Options. In the General tab, click the Delete… button in the Browsing History section.

LKurt4_CRM 2013 Popup Issue Assistance

4.  Check the boxes next to Temporary Internet Files and Cookies. The rest of the boxes should be unchecked. Click Delete.

LKurt5_CRM 2013 Popup Issue Assistance

 

5.  Click the Settings button in the Browsing History section and click View Files.

LKurt6_CRM 2013 Popup Issue Assistance

 

6.  Delete all files in the folder by hitting Ctrl + A to select all, and clicking File on the ribbon, and selecting Delete from the list.

LKurt7_CRM 2013 Popup Issue Assistance

7.  To clear all temporary files off the system, go to the Start Menu and select Run…

LKurt8_CRM 2013 Popup Issue Assistance

 

8.  Type “%temp%” and click OK.

LKurt9_CRM 2013 Popup Issue Assistance

 

9.  A Temp folder will open. Select and delete all files. A pop-up will ask if you are sure you want to move the items to the Recycle Bin. Click Yes. You may get a pop-up asking if you want to permanently delete a certain file or folder. Check the Do this for all current items box at the bottom, then click Skip.

LKurt11_CRM 2013 Popup Issue Assistance

 

10.  Repeat Steps 7 – 9, replacing “prefetch” for “%temp%” in Step 8.

11.  In the Run program, type “control keymgr.dll” and click OK.

LKurt12_CRM 2013 Popup Issue Assistance

12.  A Credential Manager window will open. Remove all the Generic Credentials regarding Dynamics CRM.

credential manager

 

Check the system time it should be updated with the server time (you can compare the time on the web and verify whether it is correct or not).

If you are having this issues or other issues with Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2013, our Microsoft Dynamics CRM Specialists offers services from installation and support to configuration and optimization.  To learn more, please contact our professionals at crm@mcgladrey.com.

Read more articles on the new release of Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2013.

By: Lindsay Kurt – Minnesota Microsoft Dynamics CRM partner

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Receive Posts by Email

Subscribe to the Microsoft Dynamics categories and receive notifications of new posts by email.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.